Thursday, November 29, 2007

CBSA 2007 Award Winners

The Colorado BioScience Association has released their winners for the 2007 Awards Program to correlate with next weeks official awards presentation at the BioWest luncheon (7 December) more info and register to attend (here).

And the envelope please…

  • The Lifetime Achievement Award goes to (insert drum-roll sound effect here) Dr. Larry Gold founder, chair and Chief Science Officer of SomaLogic. Prior to SomaLogic, Dr. Gold founded Synergen (acquired by Amgen (NASDAQ: AMGN)) then followed with the founding of NeXagen, Inc., which then merged to become NeXstar Pharmaceuticals, In addition to numerous other appointments and awards Dr. Gold is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences. Read more about CLSDF highlights of Dr. Gold (here).
  • The Company of the Year Award goes to AlloSource one of the largest non-profit bone and tissue banks in the country.
  • The Rising Star Award goes to InViragen who developing novel vaccines to protect against worldwide infectious disease threats, and was covered just two days ago here on CLSDF (see below).
  • The Volunteers of the Year Award go to Debora Hankinson and Phil Macey, two individuals who have been instrumental in revitalizing the CBSA’s Real Estate and Facilities Committee.
  • The Partner of the Year Award goes to Forest City Development who signed a 30-year agreement to develop the $2 billion bioscience park on the Fitzsimons Campus.
  • The Legislator of the Year Award goes to Representative Jim Riesberg (D-Weld). Who has carried the bioscience industry’s legislation the past two years with HB’s 1060 and 1360.
  • The CBSA Chairman’s Awards -- Ed Wood, Kevin Smith and Bonnie Vivian. Ed Wood, former CEO of Cobe served as the CBSA Board Chairman from 2005 - 2007. Kevin Smith, former President of Gambro and Bonnie Vivian, former CEO of Denver Biomedical are chairing the CBSA Education Committee.
  • The inaugural Pinnacle of Science Award has been awarded to Dr. John Stewart, University of Colorado for his substantial contributions to peptide chemistry and the growth and development of pharmaceutical manufacturing capabilities.

If you enjoyed this post get free email updates (here).

No comments: